Oxytocin

Our chemical ties have been severed

and now

there is no bond between us
On our first date

it was raining in winter

and my car was stuck in mud

on my way to you

You picked me up, took me home
I knew within hours

that I would love you
The day you broke me apart

and betrayed my heart,

it was raining in Summer

and I found myself, this time,

crying in my car

as the tires spinned out uselessly

in the mud

trying to drive to your house

to plead for you to come back

to me
But there was never any traction

when I needed it most
From our first day

to our last

I have been trapped

in the mud
It’s no wonder we didn’t go far
You were tired of picking me up

and I have always been stuck

Leave a Reply

