Tussin

Jenny said that I’m only unhappy when everything is going well
for me
I wanna tell her I’m only unhappy
when I’m bored
and manic
and it feels good to panic
happily
when headed for certain doom
But certain doom is a perpetual cycle,
contrived and concluded by the end of the week
and started up again some time next month

Robotrippin, Robotussin
I’m on and off and on
with all my fussin
shuffling around like a Queen with no pawns

Jenny,
don’t worry if I float away
cos I know you’ll be walking up there too
right behind me some day

and I’ll remember to tie you to my wrist like a balloon
when it’s windy
to keep you from blowing away or deflating
or panicking
about all the happiness to come
misinterpreted
as boredom

Leave a Reply

