Drive-Thru-Six-Pack

I like buying my daily beer
and cigarettes
from a gas station’s
drive-thru window

Usually, I don’t want to
stop
anywhere for too long

All the workers know my order –
a discovery grasped
only yesterday

I was struck with revelation
at the window

They were ready for me:
a six-pack of Shiner bottles and
27 Marlboro shorts
on the counter already
(I always go at 5:30)
And

suddenly,
I realized
(ruthlessly)
that I had become
my father

and he never stopped for long, either

Leave a Reply

