safely sentient

could i keep you safe-
engulf you with my happy?
let me be drunkly
burrowed in you
when there is
nothing else to do

underneath
my cracked dirty nails
there are songs that wait
to be sung to you
as the dawn wakes
no matter that
we stayed up too late

i’ll swallow
your old pain
shot after shot
until you are free
and cigarettes 
call my name
 
i am afraid
and flighty
and confused-
but i am sure
that i want to
keep you safely
burrowed
in my dog-hair sheets
and 
morning melodies 

Leave a Reply

